2021 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize

This prize recognizes heroic efforts made for the preservation of our modern heritage. Projects that enhanced a site’s architectural, functional, economic, and environmental sustainability while also benefiting the community are encouraged.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Conservation
Country New York, United States
RegDeadline 15 June 2021 GoogleCal iCal
15 June 2021 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field Nominated projects must have been completed in the last ten years and must have faced challenges or threats that affected the site before the project implementation.

Forward-thinking. Experimental. Bold. Progressive. Innovative. Once recognized for these defining characteristics, significant modern structures around the world often fall victim to material deterioration, perceived obsolescence, and public apathy. These threats repeatedly result in inappropriate alterations or demolition. As many modern buildings are too young to qualify for landmark designation and protection, the need for preservation and increased public awareness of these unique resources is urgent.
WMF launched the biennial World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize with founding sponsor Knoll in 2008 to recognize the individuals and organizations that preserve our modern built heritage through pioneering architectural and design solutions. The prize honors contemporary architects and preservationists whose work ensures sustainable futures for at-risk modern heritage.
The prize is part of WMF's broader programming that addresses these challenges facing modern sites through advocacy, education, and conservation, including the World Monuments Watch. The prize stemmed from WMF's Modernism at Risk initiative, created in 2006 in response to the increasing threats to buildings representative of the modern movement.
The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize recognizes outstanding physical interventions to preserve modern heritage. Projects that enhance a site's architectural, economic, and environmental sustainability while engaging and benefiting local stakeholders are encouraged.

An independent jury of architectural scholars, conservators, and professionals in related fields will select the prize winner.
The jury is chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University.

A cash honorarium of $10,000
A Knoll Barcelona chair
Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations for the winner to attend the award ceremony in New York City (pending Covid-19 travel restrictions)

Entry Fee

The prize winner will be announced in fall 2021.

Past winners

World Monuments Fund

Official Website