World Habitat Awards 2016/17

The Awards were established with the aim not only of identifying innovative and sustainable examples of housing practice but also of sharing and transferring the award-winning approaches where possible and appropriate.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage , Onymous
Genre Housing, Sustainability
Country UK
RegDeadline 29 April 2016 GoogleCal iCal
29 April 2016 (via Online)
Eligibility All

The World Habitat Awards were established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless.
Two awards are given annually to projects that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems.
Every year an award of £10,000 is presented to each of the two winners at the World Urban Forum (even years) and UN-Habitat Governing Council (odd years).

Not yet announced

£10,000 total

Entry Fee

Initial submissions should comprise a concise description of the key aspects of the project or approach, accompanied by images where possible.

English, Spanish or French

Final deadline for receipt of submissions: 29th April 2016
Notification of shortlisted projects: June 2016
Deadline for further information from shortlisted projects: 1st August 2016
Evaluation of shortlisted projects: August 2016 to January 2017
Announcement of winners: February 2017
Presentation of the Awards at the UN-Habitat Governing Council: April 2017

Past winners

Building and Social Housing Foundation

Official Website