beam goes Mobile International Design Competition


Wakefield based company Beam are delighted to announce the winner of their international design competition - Mobile!

Threefold Architects in collaboration with the Jason Bruges Studios emerged triumphant against fierce competition from other shortlisted practices, Atmos Studio Ltd and Cottrell and Vermeulen.


beam and RIBA are delighted to announce the launch of a two-stage competition to design an innovative, dynamic and highly interactive mobile facility that stimulates creative engagement, learning and participation.

Category Other Competition / Competition Result
Type Mobile Facility Project Competition
Country UK
RegDeadline 7 March 2008 GoogleCal iCal
7 March 2008 (Must be Received)
Eligibility Artists, Architects and Designers

Artists, architects, designers, and creatives – regional, national and international - are invited to submit design concepts for a mobile facility / resource / installation that will enable beam to increase the impact of its work, taking it into public spaces, schools, and communities. The competition has been funded by Arts Council England and CABE (the Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment), with the support of Wakefield MDC and other partners.

The facility will be used to deliver a range of activities, temporarily 'transforming' the places it visits. It will facilitate workshops, special events, exhibitions, and consultation, and will be a catalyst for stimulating aspiration, engagement, knowledge, and delight. Highly flexible, the winning design will have the capacity to adapt quickly to needs of varying locations, clients, and communities.

To be announced

Judging Process

An equal honorarium of £2,000 will be paid to each competitor invited to produce a design proposal.

Entry Fee

• Cover letter detailing suitability for the commission
• Profile / CV (including 2 referees)
• Portfolio of work (CD) indicating 3 to 6 projects that demonstrate relevant past experience

Shortlist agreed by beam (3 applicants) w/c 7 April 08
Final selection of winning design proposal 27 June 08


Official Website