Holcim Awards for Sustainable Projects 08-09

コンペ結果 Japanese Flag

The Holcim Foundation has announced winners of the Global Holcim Awards competition with total prize money of USD 2 million. Winning projects from Morocco, Vietnam, China and the United States illustrate the broad scope of innovative ideas that improve lives, reduce environmental footprints and lead the way to a more sustainable planet.

More information...


建築関連分野の未完成サスティナブルプロジェクトを顕彰。サスティナブルプロジェクトをより活発化する国際的プラットフォームとなるべく、Holcim Foundationとその協力大学によって設立された。サスティナビリティについてよく理解し、主催者があげる5つの指標に対する解答が求められる。Holcim社は、世界有数のセメント会社で、各国にその拠点を持つ巨大企業である。

カテゴリ アワード / コンペ結果
タイプ International, Award, Open
ジャンル Sustainability
開催地 Switzerland
登録締切日 29 Feb 2008 GoogleCal iCal
提出締切日 29 Feb 2008 (Must be Received via Online)
応募資格 Entries in the Holcim Awards competition for sustainable construction projects may be submitted by the project’s design team which consists of the author(s) and all other persons responsible for the project.

The objective of the Holcim Foundation in cooperation with its partner universities is to establish the Holcim Awards as an international platform for professionals and specialists of all generations to promote interdisciplinary dialog, bring forward new ideas and examine potential solutions.

The Holcim Awards competition is comprised of five regional Holcim Awards (in 2007/8) and the global Holcim Awards (in 2009). The regional Holcim Awards are based on five geographic regions: Europe, North America, Latin America, Africa Middle East, and Asia Pacific.

Target Projects
The Holcim Awards recognize contributions to sustainable construction – irrespective of scale – in architecture, landscape and urban design, civil and mechanical engineering and other related disciplines. The design must demonstrate proof of sustainability according to the five target issues for sustainable construction:

Holcim Awards (main) category
The Holcim Awards competition is open to projects at an advanced stage of design with a high probability of execution. To be eligible for entry, the project must not have commenced execution prior to June 1, 2007.

“Next Generation” category
A “Next Generation” category is open for project visions at a conceptual level, early stage of design or with a low probability of execution. To be eligible for entry, the project author(s) must be less than 35 years of age at February 29, 2008. Please note there is no global phase of the competition for entrants in the “Next Generation” category.

See "July section" in official website

The total prize money of the regional and global Holcim Awards is USD 2 million.

Regional Holcim Award:
Gold: USD 100,000
Silver: USD 50,000
Bronze: USD 25,000
3-6 regional Acknowledgement prizes with a total budget of USD 60,000
On regional level, juries will also award three “Next Generation” prizes from a total budget of USD 35,000 per region.

The projects awarded Holcim Award Gold, Holcim Award Silver, or Holcim Award Bronze in all regional competitions automatically qualify for the global Holcim Awards competition in 2009.

Global Holcim Award:
Gold: USD 300,000
Silver: USD 200,000
Bronze: USD 100,000
Global Holcim Innovation prize: USD 50,000

Entry Fee

- Description of the project
- Five to ten images illustrating the project
- Statements about the project’s relation to the five target issues
- Self assessment with regard to the five target issues
- and more

Regional Awards 2008
- Meetings of regional juries: June/July, 2008
- Regional Awards ceremonies: October/November, 2008
Global Awards 2009
- Global Awards adjudication and ceremony: First half of 2009

Result of Regional Holcim Awards 2005

Holcim Foundation and partner universities

Official Website