The Rust Belt Architecture Competition


カテゴリ アイディアコンペ / 学生が参加できるコンペ
タイプ International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage , Anonymous
ジャンル Urban
開催地 Kenosha, United States
登録締切日 31 May 2015 (See "Entry Fee" below) GoogleCal iCal
提出締切日 1 June 2015 (via Online) GoogleCal
応募資格 All

The City of Kenosha has a long history involving the automobile industry. The first mass assembly plant was built along Kenosha's shores in 1902 – a year ahead of Henry Ford's first factory – and for most of the 20th Century the city reveled in its car-building heyday. With the regional decline of car manufacturing starting in the late 1980s, this southeast Wisconsin community of 97,000 has worked hard the past two decades to revitalize those industrial properties once used for creating such automotive innovations as the steering wheel, seat belt and muscle car.
The aim of this international competition is to design a new urban area that will act as a catalyst in the heart of Kenosha, WI. The architecture and design of this new area should reflect contemporary design tendencies. The proposal must not only attend to the specific site but the design should also take into consideration the surrounding urban fabric and the impact your new design will have on on the sites surrounding and the entire Kenosha area as a whole.
There is no specific program or design criteria for the competition. However, even though the use is open ended, all designs should address 4 aspects (History of the Site and City, The Sites Surrounding Urban Fabric, Industries of Kenosha, and Transportation Options).

UD4U Jury Members:
- Matthew Clapper - UD4U Principal
- Elizabeth Fallon - UD4U Senior Designer
- Kaleb Quirin - UD4U Project Manager and Designer
Guest Jury Members:

First Place: $2,500
Second Place: $1,250
Third Place: $750
5 Honorable Mentions: $100 each

Entry Fee
Registration: US $100 from March 1 - April 31, 2015
Late Registration: US $140 from May 1 - May 30, 2015

Two horizontal boards: 3500 width x 2600 height (pixels) /36.45 x 27.08 inches

Jury Evaluation: June 8-12, 2015
Announcement of Winners and Publication at June 15, 2015


Official Website