Tabakalera International Contemporary Culture Centre of San Sebastian


Jon Montero and Naiara Montero from A Coruña

second prize
VAUMM Arquitectura y Urbanismo S.L.P. studio from San Sebastián

third prize
SOB Arquitectos S.L. from Barcelona

three consolation prizes
nred arquitectos, from Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Dietmar Leyk and Petra Wollenberg from Berlin
Carlos Manzano Arquitectos S.A. from Madrid

three special mentions
Langdon Reis Architects Ltd (London)
Isabel de Rentería Cano (Barcelona)
Alonso, Balaguer y Arquitectos Asociados S.L. (Barcelona)

View winning entries.



カテゴリ 実施コンペ / コンペ結果
タイプ International, Project, Open, Two-Stage, Anonymous
ジャンル Culture-Center, Renovation
開催地 Donostia-San Sebastian, Spain
登録締切日 4 August 2008 GoogleCal iCal
提出締切日 30 September 2008 (Must be Received) GoogleCal
応募資格 This Competition is open to proposals from natural persons or legal entities, Spanish or foreign, who have the full power to act, are not affected by any kind of prohibition to enter a contract and provide proof of the technical or professional solvency.

The entity calling this Competition, CENTRO INTERNACIONAL DE CULTURA CONTEMPORÁNEA, S.A. (hereinafter, CICC), a company held in equal parts by San Sebastian City Council, the Provincial Council of Gipuzkoa and the Basque Government, wishes to build an International Contemporary Culture Centre at the Paseo del Duque de Mandas no. 52 in San Sebastian, with the purpose of completing available cultural activities in the Basque Country and therefore strengthening its strategic position as a place of social integration set around today’s culture.

This Centre will be housed in the building known as the former Fábrica de Tabacos, thus permitting re-use of the space, magnificently constructed, for a new, chiefly cultural use, in keeping with the tradition of transforming valuable architecture and taking advantage of it for new collective uses.

The Contracting Body for the purposes of this Competition is the CICC Board of Directors which, where appropriate and compliant to the applicable private law regulations, has the power to expressly appoint the people it considers necessary to carry out specific actions in relation to the aforementioned Competition.

Chair: Chair of the CICC Board of Directors
Vice-Chair: Vice-Chair of the CICC Board of Directors
- The CICC member of the Board of Directors, in representation of the Institution participating in CICC, who will not occupy the chair or the vice-chair.
- The CICC Director General.
- The CICC Director of Architecture
- An architect appointed by mutual agreement by the COAVN Deanship and the CICC Architecture Office or one substitute.
- An architect expert in architectural renovation, new technologies and energy efficiency chosen by the CICC Architecture Office or one substitute.
- An expert in the use, or at the head of specifically cultural buildings or museums, or a journalist, or an architecture critic, chosen by the CICC Office of the Director General or one substitute.
- Three experts (architects or engineers), each representing one of the Institutions

1st Prize: The amount of 36,000 euros, by way of an advance payment for fees and adjudication of the contract to draw up the Execution Project for the work to be carried out and its management, according to the conditions indicated in paragraph 2.1.
2nd Prize: 36,000 euros.
3rd Prize: 30,000 euros.
1st Runner-up: 18,000 euros.
2nd Runner-up: 12,000 euros.
3rd Runner-up: 6,000 euros.
Mentions: maximum of three projects, 3,000 euros each.

Entry Fee

A1 format

Basque, Spanish or English

Submission Address
c/ Paseo del Duque de Mandas nº 52. 20012 Donostia–San Sebastián

During the week from 9th to 12th of December 2008, the three shortlisted participants will be individually called to a meeting.

The San Sebastian City Council, the Provincial Council of Gipuzkoa and the Basque Government

Official Website